Muses for Racial Realism: A Soundtrack on Critical Race

Currently, I am in a Critical Race Study Group aimed at discussing how race, racism, and power intersect the educational system in America (also throughout the world). Under the teachings of Dr. Denise Taliaferro Baszile, we will are exploring the permanence of racism this week. I was reimagining a concert of folks I would want to sing, rap, and bare witness to how real racism is in America today and how it is embedded in the the social structures. Thus, what follows are four artist with four tracks that provide us critical race musical tunes to understand how permanent racism is in America.

I have named these artist Muses for Racial Realism. Racial realism is part of the argument marshaled by Derrick Bell, key member in the Critical Race Movement. He argues throughout many of his writings including Face at the Bottom of the Well: The Permanence of Racism, , Silent Covenants: Brown v. Board of Education and the Unfulfilled Hopes for Racial Reform, and And We Are Not Saved: The Elusive Quest for Racial Justice that racism is a permanent fixture wedded to American systems and it cannot be expunged.

Jadakiss- Young, Gifted, & Black (Freestyle)

Hottest Lines in the track that highlight racial realism:

“60/40, the white man is still winning”

“I’m Young, Gifted, and Black.”

Lauryn Hill- Black Rage

Hottest Lines in the track that highlight racial realism:

“Black Rage is founded on wounds in the soul”

“Black rage is founded on denial of self”

Jasiri X- New Nat Turners

Hottest Lines in the track that highlight racial realism:

“I am tired of black murders, if they the new slaves, we the new Nat Turners.”

“My shero has a $2 million bounty on her future.”

“I ain’t Django either, I ain’t waiting for no white man to come give me my freedom.”

“If the choice is freedom or death, then what’s the option?”

“I heard it takes 2 Chainz to make a slave, one on your physical frame and one on your brain.

Kendrick Lamar- King Kunta

Hottest Lines in the track that highlight racial realism:

“Ah yeah fuck the judge I made it passed 25 and there I was, a little nappy head nigga with the world behind em.”

“From a peasant, to a prince, to a muthafucking king.”

Leave a Reply

